APS Election 2019

In 2019, the positions of all four officers are up for election: President, Vice-President, Treasurer and Secretary.  At present there is one candidate for each position:

President: Elizabeth Lawson (two years)

Vice-president: Mark Dyen (two years)

Secretary: Dean Wiegert (two years)

Board of Directors: Julia Haldorson, Janice Anthony, Pat Hartman (each for three years)

All bios are available here.

To avoid the possibility in future of all four officers ending their terms at the same time, two of the candidates have offered to stand for just a one-year term instead of the usual two-year period.

In addition, as usual, the terms of two of our directors will come to an end at the AGM this May.  The directors this time are Amy Olmsted and Ed Buyarski. Amy and Ed will be standing for re-election.

Although at present there is only one candidate for each of the six posts, the membership is encouraged to submit nominations for any of the posts. If you know a member of the American Primrose Society who is able and willing to stand for one of these positions, please write his or her name in the appropriate place on the ballot.  PLEASE NOTE:  The person who nominates and the person nominated must both be members in good standing of the American Primrose Society.

Briefly, directors’ duties consist of the following: promote the love and knowledge of Primula; be familiar with the APS constitution; attend four online meetings a year; join one or more of the board committees (seed exchange, editorial, membership, website, FaceBook, or any ad hoc committee); contribute at least one article to the quarterly or the website during their term (The article can be quite short).  The term is three years.

A fuller description of directors’ duties is given here.